Yoga & Skill Thursday 5/2/14

I am still struggling with my left knee and my lower back which is annoying because I had to skip 7×7 back squats this week to make sure it won’t get worse… So I decided to take Thursday off and do some yoga and skill training instead.

I went to “Yoga für dich” in the morning. They have two branches in Berlin, one in Kreuzberg (around the corner) and the other one in Friedrichshain. The owner is also a member at CrossFit Icke. I wanted to go for for a long long time and finally I made it. It was 10 Euro for the single class and it was level 1&2. The class was 60 minutes. We were 5 people and I felt quite comfortable with the exercises. I am still not sure about my breathing… I think it is a big part of yoga and the movements but there I have to work on. Also the noises during loud breathing and the “oooooommmmmmm” thing is not my kinda stuff.. Haha, still I enjoyed the moments in the class, listening to your body, breathing and relaxing. It could have been a bit more challenging but of course every lessonand every teacher is different. I hope I will go more often now…

In the early afternoon I went to the box. Tomorrow we will do the third wod for the challenge:

2x 12 min amrap, one man&one women at the same time, one works and one rests
24 double unders, 6 box over (high box)

So it was also good to rest a bit because of the wod, even it is not as hard as the next one. 21-15-9 thing….
It can be a good workout but what if I mess up my double unders because I am too nervous?!?!?!?! Son fingers crossed….

At the box I worked on my gymnastic skills:
– strict pull ups and chin ups
– ring muscle up (kip and strict)
– working on dips (strict/kip)
– bar muscle up (still far away)
– chest to bar pull ups
– handstand push ups (strict and on higher plates)
– handstand walk/handstand hold… still shit
– handstand on the wall on kettlebells, took a bit but worked out

We finished with an emom 12, doing pull up stuff: strict pull ups, chin ups, strict muscle up, reverse grip chin ups, high chin up, high pull up, kipping pull up.

It was a good skill part and fun to work on, normally I do nat have the time to focus on all these things during my regular working schedule… 🙂

Leave a Reply

