German Throwdown 2015 First Day-Friday 30/10/15

We left Berlin Friday morning by train. This years competition took place in Dortmund.I booked an apartment in the middle of the city which was perfect for the nights.

I already knew the first workout which was absolutely not in my wheelhouse:
12190056_399125700295152_476231107968556460_n

So I was quite nervous and unconfident about my weights. I choose the safe way for my lifts:

Snatch 35/40/45kg and C&J 55/60/65kg
When it was my turn in the master elite heat (35+, I feel soooooo old) I still was a bit insecure but the lifts felt good and I really liked the barbell and the plates and all lifts went well, not a single fail. Actually the 65kg felt never so easy… Afterwards I struggled a bit with myself I should have been a bit more risky, at least with the C&J and should have started with 60kg…. The good thing is it will help me to get better at my lifts because I know what I am already be able to lift. I am looking forward to hit the 70kg very soon….

The good thing is, we all had to our lifts at the same time, so I was surrounded by the other athletes and didn’t lift on my own while other people were watching… My overall standing was not that bad, even the not very heavy lifts. I finished 6th out of twelve

Leave a Reply

