Budapest Throwdown Day 1

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We got up (too) early because the masters would be the first heat and we had no time to register the day before. After a muesli breakfast and some coffee we left our apartment to go straight to the venue which was really close by.
When we arrived there, it does not look like a Throwdown. There was a huge sport complex with a big gym, an outside and inside swimming pool and an outdoor area. On the parking lot we saw the rack but nobody was here. Haha, what an interesting start into the weekend. The competition should start at 10 am, we were really wondering about the schedule. But more and more people showed up and they started to bring equipment and the registration opened. We got our goodie bag with two shirts, some supplements and two shakers. The warm up area was actually a CrossFit box in the global gym. I was kinda impressed about the whole complex, lots of things to do there…

http://fandm.hu/en/

http://fandm.hu/crossterem/

http://momsport.hu/en

We need sth like this in Berlin…

Workout 1 started a bit later but still very impressive for the late arrival of the equipment…:

12-12-12
3 rm Hang Clean
9-9-9
2 rm jerk
6-6-4
1 rm snatch
timecap 12 min

This one was not our wod because one of our members can not do handstand push ups, so it was over after we did ours. My 3 rm hang clean was 65 kg, I tried 67.5 but only got 2, because of my elbows but still okay…

WOD 2
This was a chipper, every member has to do at least one rep of each movement in every round:

3 rds for time
30 pull ups
30 wall balls (men’s target)
30 deadlift (50/80)
30 box over

This was better but we lost some time during transitions and got some no reps on the wall balls because u have to hit the target, not jus a wall. So I actually was a bit disappointed with our result. And I ripped off my right hand, the rack was really bad…

WOD 3
This was a fun one, we actually finished 3rd or 4th here, even we messed up a little bit.

1) 15 rope climb attempts (legless or with legs, women 9 points for legless, men 6; regular rope climb 3 points)
We did all my 5 attempts legless, so I am pretty sure this gave us a lot of points

Run around the rack with sandbags/medball

100-100-100 unbroken double unders (each person has 3 attempts) . I do not like unbroken double unders… I started with them, the plattform was a bit unstable and I moved to much, I felt how the floor changed, got a bit nervous and stopped after 96 – damn it!!!!! The two guys had some trouble with the DU – 33 and 12 or 13 reps… :/

Run around the rack with sandbags/medball

10-10-10 unbroken OHS (35/60kg) I started with them and it was okay, the other meber also got the 10 reps and our third can not do it, so he tried but failed…

Run around the rack with sandbags/medball

amrap row
timecap 20 min

Haha, here we got crazy… We had a good finish position, even we had problems during the double unders and the overhead squat. We finished third or fourth overall.
timecap 20 min

WOD 4
Last but not least – the worst “Swim Wod”
10-10-10 sandbag ground to overhead
swim 20 m
8-8-8
swim 20 m
6-6-6
swim 20 m
4-4-4
swim 20 m
2-2-2
swim 20 m

Okay this time it was me, I really suck when it comes to swimming. I am just not that big fan of water and swimming, at least we only had to swim 20 meter. It actually felt good to jump into the water after the hot and sweaty day but I was just slow… Hahahaha, seriously slow. I passed one other woman and I really don’t know how someone can be slower than me.

It was the last wod for today, we packed together went back to the apartment to get ready for dinner. We took the tram and went for pasta in the city center… Looking forward to Sunday…

Leave a Reply

