French Throwdown Saturday

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The event took place outside of the centre in a big sport complex. The area was really nice. The organization great, good equipment and everything well planned, except the wods for the teams, they were all disappointing, no real team wods for event 1 to 5. Actually there was one event where the males and the females did 60 toes to bars together but that’s it.. All the other wods were like one is working at the time, the others are waiting. So it felt more like an individual competition than anything else. We could not support each other, share reps, split up movements etc…
Also the wods weren’t my favorites, no deadlifts, no handstand push ups, no double unders, no bodyweight stuff, no wall balls… – all wods were kinda sprints for every athlete, short and more or less intense. Mmh…

Saturday we did 3 events and Sunday we did two, the cut was afterwards. From 40 teams only 10 teams could go on, also weird. They often have two cuts or take at least a couple more people into the finals. We finished up 15th, which is not too bad overall. I was not happy with my performance. I screwed up one wod which all of my team members were thinking will be a good one for me and then I was stuck with the 50kg OHS and got so many reps and attempts to finish the last four. This was though… :/

The competition level was high, there were a couple of regional athletes, competing in a team or as individuals. If you see them performing and then look at you, it is kinda depressing…

Saturday WODs

each member has to
run 400 m
20 pull ups
10 chest to bar pull ups
5 bar muscle ups
run 400 m
“Yeah” – running and bar muscle ups… It was outdoor on a track and field area. As expected my bar muscle ups sucked but I made it through. Still no butterfly chest to bar pull ups, only kipping :/ We finished up 14th.

The next was my hat wod because I had so many trouble with the OHS:
each member has to
21 cal assault bike
15 box jump over
9 ohs 50/80kg

So as I said I totally messed up the OHS, my kinda strengths. I changed my assault bike strategy, used my arms more than my legs because I wanted to safe my legs for the box jumps, mistake! During the las 4 reps of the OHS I lost my balance and my upper body strengths. O could not hold the bar overhead, I dropped it a couple of times, got no reps, had to do one by one – IT WAS FRUSTRATING!!!!!! 😦 I totally lost my confidence afterwards and felt so bad, it was horrible. We finished up 30th… 😦

Last wod was male/male and then female/female
9 min timecap
60 toes to bar
– find your three rep max touch and go clean

After the disappointing wod before I was really insecure, so I started light with the clean, 55 kg – I think this was a joke for other athletes… It really felt good and easy, typical me – more like muscle high power cleans than anything else… I went up to 60kg and finally to 65kg. Perhaps I could have done more today but I wanted to be on the safe side…

So Saturday was done. At the end of the day we were 22nd overall…, but very close to 17th…, just some points in between.

At night we went to the supermarket, the guys bought pizza. We ate and fell asleep…

Leave a Reply

